On Why I Love Books

Borders will always be special to me– even if they had no soul

As I mentioned before on my bio page I have been thoroughly obsessed with books ever since I was a child. I have a very distinct memory of walking into a Border’s Bookstore for the first time and being amazed that I could own these books. I grew up in a very small town with no bookstores at all. But my parents were book people so we would take the 45 minute drive up to the closest book warehouse when I was younger. The earliest memory I have of going into a bookshop is at age 12 when I bought Angus, Things and Full Frontal Snogging because it sounded awesome instead of being recommended by the Scholastic Corporation. I read the whole series after that. It was funny and cool and not what my librarian would have stocked in our very tiny school library. You see, the vast majority of my reading came from my school library and while they tried very hard to have a wide variety a lot fell through the cracks. They were far more concerned with having the right academic research volumes than the latest Young Adult novels. Of course when I was able to drive I could make regular pilgrimages to my local county library to get a larger selection.

However, there is nothing quite like having your own library to choose from. So despite the weird smell and brightly buzzing fluorescent lights I loved Border’s Books most of all. I mean, they no longer exist so that should be proof enough of how truly awful they are. Not that Barnes & Noble Books is all that improved but at least they attempt to have some atmosphere. But to this book starved mind Border’s was a hub of intellectualism. I could get any fresh crisp new book that I wanted. It wasn’t until I was old enough to travel to Philadelphia and scour their small selection of independent bookshops that I realized how cheap and garish the new printings of books were. I remember what it was like to hold a printing of a classic book from the 60s or 70s. I would marvel at how beautiful and detailed the cover art was and thought how I had never seen anything like it on a new printing.

Don’t get me wrong- what matters the most to me are the words contained within that cover, not the actual cover. My real obsession stems from the world that books take me too. I become completely enraptured by a great novel. The world falls away and there is very little that can distract me. Take me to a rock concert and I could sit quietly with a book and never hear a sound. They envelop me in a place of magic and safety all at once. I can be placed in the middle of a great battle yet feel as though nothing could ever touch me. That is truly the best thing about being a reader and I think most will have to agree. We love nothing more than getting lost in the pages whether it is bound in this decade or any other. 

What about the rest of you? Why do you love books so much? What is it that draws us to them and makes us readers for life? Do you have specific editions or just whatever you are able to locate for a good price?

See you later, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

